Sports Update – Sunday, June 5th

Sports Update – Sunday, June 5th

Jamie Roy of Quarry Oaks missing 1up to Ryan Blair of Elmhurst in the quarterfinals of Golf Manitoba’s Provincial Men’s Match Engage in Championship at Quarry. Kate Gregoire of Quarry Oaks defeated Mikyla Albert of Selkirk 2 & 1 in the spherical of 16 and then shed 1up to Charmaine Mackid of Breezy Bend in the quarterfinals in the Women’s Division.

The Steinbach Pistons picked eight gamers in the 2022 Manitoba Junior Hockey League Draft. The Pistons took forward Jackson Kostiuk of Winnipeg 12th general in round a person. Steinbach also selected ahead Cameron Parr of La Salle in round two forward Carson White of Winnipeg in round three ahead Branden Watson of East St. Paul & goaltender Dimitri Fortin of Winnipeg in spherical 4 forwards Cole Penner of Winnipeg & Luc Degagne of Lorette in spherical 5 and ahead Gavin Hodnett of Winnipeg in spherical seven.

The Niverville Nighthawks picked 10 gamers in the team’s very first ever Manitoba Junior Hockey League Draft. The Nighthawks took defenseman Avery Laliberte of Lorette with the fourth total pick in spherical one. Niverville also selected forward Nathan Brown of Winnipeg in spherical two goaltender Raiden LeGall of Morden, ahead Regan Anderson of Souris and forward Kelby Diehl of Glenboro in spherical three forward Liam Goertzen of Homewood in round four ahead Tyson Sperber of Winnipeg in spherical 5 forward Hayden Moore of Winnipeg in spherical six ahead Calem Normandeau of La Broquerie in round seven and forward Rowin Bachalo-Richmond of Forrest in round 8.

For finish 2022 MJHL Draft success click on here

The Back garden Metropolis Battling Gophers defeated the Stonewall Rams 4-1 in the final of the Provincial Large School Baseball Championship in Brandon. The Boissevain Broncos downed the Neelin Spartans 4-1 in the ultimate of the Provincial Superior Faculty Fastpitch Championship also in Brandon.

Raul Navarro had 3 hits and Logan Hill drove in four operates as the Winnipeg Goldeyes downed the Lincoln Saltdogs 10-3 at Shaw Park.

The class of 2020 was inducted into the Manitoba Baseball Hall of Fame Saturday night in Morden. Ron Arnst, Les Charles, Blaine Fortin, Andrew Halpenny, John Kroeker, Morris Mott and Kalam Paull were included to the Hall. The 1994-95 Carman Goldeyes Midget teams and the Goldeyes 1997-2000 Junior groups ended up also inducted along with the Elmwood Giants Junior teams from 2002-2007. The 1971-75 Cardale Cougars Bantam, Midget & Bisons teams and the 1991 Portage Athletics Midget workforce. Jack Callum was posthumously named an Honourary Existence Member. The 24th induction banquet was delayed for two yrs for the reason that of COVID.